Ottawa Tourism Awards celebrate tourism leaders

Left to right: Michael Crockatt, President and CEO of Ottawa Tourism; Jonathon Harris, Tourism Industry Advisor with the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport, and this year’s Tourism Champion; and Don Masters, Mediaplus Advertising. (Photo credit: Justin Van Leeuwen)

Ottawa Tourism celebrated the successes and achievements of the tourism community in Ottawa at the Ottawa Tourism Awards on Thursday, April 25 in the Aberdeen Pavilion at Lansdowne.

Winners were chosen among 17 finalists in four major award categories:

New Company of the Year

  • Artist in Residence Distillerie
  • Le Boat  ***WINNER***
  • Le Germain Hotel Ottawa

Tourism Partnership

  • C’est Bon Cooking and Escape Bicycle Tours & Rentals – Bike & Bites Tour ***WINNER***
  • Escapade Music Festival, Live Nation Ontario, and Beachclub – Escapade Music Festival
  • Music and Beyond & Thirteen Strings Chamber Orchestra – John Rutter in Ottawa
  • TD Ottawa Jazz Festival, OLG, and Air North – OLG Play North

Event of the Year

  • Escapade Music Festival ***WINNER – tie ***
  • Ottawa Chamberfest  ***WINNER – tie *** 
  • Saunders Farm Inc.
  • St. Lawrence Parks Commission

New Visitor Experience

  • Calypso Waterpark
  • C’est Bon Cooking and Escape Bicycle Tours & Rentals
  • Chelsea Pub
  • Escape Manor
  • Le Boat
  • Ottawa Art Gallery ***WINNER***

Six other award winners were recognized at the event:

  • Jonathon Harris, Tourism Industry Advisor with the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport, was recognized as this year’s Tourism Champion
  • The Don Blakslee Hotelier of the Year award was given to an outstanding hotelier in Ottawa ***RECIPIENT: Colin Morrison, General Manager of the Ottawa Embassy Hotel & Suites ***
  • Anna Verozub, a student in Algonquin College’s School of Hospitality and Tourism, received the annual Ottawa Tourism Scholarship
  • Hans Tammemagi, a travel writer from British Columbia, has won the Ottawa Tourism Travel Writing Award for his article A Moving Ceremony at the Memorial Chamber, which appeared in the November 2018 issue of Inspired 55+ Lifestyle magazine
  • Hannah Manning was recognized as the winner of the Ottawa Tourism Social Media Influencer Award
  • Colette Latour of the Sheraton Ottawa Hotel was congratulated for being named the 2018 Star of the City 

The Ottawa Tourism Awards ceremony welcomed more than 240 local tourism industry leaders. The annual event is coordinated by Ottawa Tourism and celebrates the individuals, organizations and events that have set high standards and demonstrated outstanding achievement, contributing to the growth and development of tourism in Ottawa and Canada’s Capital Region.

“Ottawa really rallied in 2018 to continue the success we saw as a result of Canada’s 150th anniversary celebrations in 2017,” says Michael Crockatt, President and CEO of Ottawa Tourism. “We are excited to put the focus on our members’ achievements at this year’s Ottawa Tourism Awards and to continue celebrating the success of the tourism industry in Ottawa.”

This year, Ottawa Tourism showcased Nita Beer Company, Big Rig Brewery, Beau’s All Natural Brewing Company, Flora Hall Brewing, Lowertown Brewery, Stray Dog Brewing Company, and Artist in Residence Distillerie with craft beer samples and cocktails; as well as Chef Michael Moffatt of Thyme & Again Creative Catering who presented a special culinary demonstration for guests. The reception portion was sponsored by five Ottawa Business Improvement Areas: Bank Street, ByWard Market, Downtown Rideau, Glebe, and Vanier. Award sponsors include blackiron, Casino du Lac-Leamy, Freeman Audio Visual, Mediaplus Advertising and WHERE Ottawa.