Tulip Award Winners Announced at Tulip Soirée

[Source: Canadian Tulip Festival]

The Canadian Tulip Festival is proud to announce the Tulip Award recipients for 2017.  In the spirit of highlighting and celebrating the Capital’s vibrant tulip culture, these new awards acknowledge and recognize those who contribute to and enhance the Capital’s tulip experience during the Festival.

The Tulip is Ottawa’s official flower and the Festival has been celebrating the Capital’s vibrant tulip culture for 65 years, having first been established to acknowledge the friendship forged between Holland and Canada while the Dutch Royal Family was sheltered here during the Second World War.

The twelve Tulip Award recipients  announced at the Tulip Soirée, an inaugural event of the Canadian Tulip Festival that took place tonight during  the 7th World Tulip Summit in Ottawa, are as follows:

Alt Hotel Front of Hotel Display
Half Moon Bay Public School Tulip Garden
National Capital Commission Canada 150 Tulip
Rheal Leroux Front Yard Garden
Dundonald Park Community Tulip Garden
Maplelawn Garden Tulip Gardens
Beechwood Cemetery Tulip Gardens
Schad Window Display – tulip heads
Jason Michelin Tulip Crush Game
Embassy West Hotel Canada 150 Celebration Garden
Top Shelf Distillery Tulip Julip Cocktail
Lord Elgin Malak Karsh Tulip Photo Exhibition

“We are proud to celebrate those organizations which have generously contributed to and supported the Canadian Tulip Festival and its tulip legacy. The Festival has grown in stature to become internationally known and continues to flourish thanks to organizations like yours,” said Michel Gauthier, Executive Director of the Festival.